10 - 13 March 2022, The NEC Birmingham


Obedience competitions at CruftsObedience competitions take place throughout the four days of Crufts. They’re held in the ring dedicated to obedience, located in hall 5 of the NEC , which holds over 1,000 spectators and is often filled to capacity. There are three different competitions that take place over the course of the event:

  • Inter-regional rally competition followed by the obreedience competition
  • Inter-regional obedience competition
  • Obedience championships for dogs and obedience championships for bitches

If you are a visitor going to watch obedience for the first time, you may want to look at our new to obedience pages, which explain the tests, marking, rules and the different levels of competition for obedience.


It is with great disappointment that The Kennel Club must announce that, due to the lack of opportunity to qualify, the Obedience competition will be unable to take place at Crufts 2021.

Crufts judges 2021

Obedience championships Mrs P Watson

Tickets for obedience

You can purchase tickets for the obedience ring here.

Crufts obedience championships

Saturday and Sunday are the highlight of the UK obedience year, when the best of the UK’s obedience dogs and their handlers compete for the title of Crufts obedience champion. One day is for bitches, the other for dogs. Throughout the year there are a number of championship shows around the UK which host qualifying classes for the Crufts obedience championships. All dogs have won through the class levels to qualify for championship class C, and those who win a championship class during the preceding year will qualify to compete in the obedience championships the following March. The title of obedience champion can be claimed by any dog that has won championship class C on three occasions under three different judges, or one that wins a Crufts championship obedience class.

On parade

Each day in the Crufts obedience ring begins with a parade of all those entered on that day, introduced in working order. Each of the teams chooses a piece of music for their parade around the ring, giving each a stamp of individuality. On Saturday and Sunday, each handler and dog is introduced and the details of the shows at which they qualified for Crufts is also announced.

The inter-regional team event

Seven teams will compete at Crufts, representing the UK regions: Scotland, Northern, Midlands, Western, Southern, Wales and Northern Ireland to win the inter-regional team event. Everything you need to know can be found below.  


The Kennel Club can confirm that the Inter Regional Rally Competition is expected to go ahead on Thursday 15 July at Crufts 2021 and the Inter Regional Obedience Competition is expected to go ahead on Friday 16 July.

Crufts Judge 2021

Inter-regional obedience Mrs M Harvey

The inter-regional team event

Seven teams compete, representing the UK regions: Scotland, Northern, Midlands, Western, Southern, Wales and Northern Ireland. Five levels of obedience competition are on show, and the aim of the day is to demonstrate a range of breeds and competition levels in obedience. Each team will have seven handlers and dogs:

  • one beginner
  • two novice
  • two class A
  • one class B
  • one class C

The team managers are responsible for selecting their team members, but they must include a variety of breeds including crossbreed dogs, even though the Border Collie/working Sheepdog are the most common breeds competing. The inter-regional day is a showcase to demonstrate that almost any dog can compete and be successful in obedience. This competition has run for many years and the teams work hard to do their best. It is always a closely fought event.

Crufts Inter-Regional Obedience Results

See the full results from the Inter - Regional Obedience at Crufts here. 

If you have any queries, please email obedience@thekennelclub.org.uk.