KC Breeders' Competition finalists announced

The Kennel Club has announced that 56 breeders have qualified for the first ever Kennel Club Breeders’ Competition Final, due to be staged at DFS Crufts on Friday 12th March 2010. The judge for the competition will be Mr Jeff Horswell.

Over the past twelve months, dog breeders around the country have competed in the Breeders’ Competition, which is sponsored by the Kennel Club Breeder Plan. Breeders have showcased their breeding talents by competing with teams of four dogs that have all been bred by them.

Launched at the Manchester Dog Show Society Championship Show in January 2009, the competition quickly developed in popularity seeing as many as 94 breeder teams take part in some Groups at General Championship Shows.  Furthermore, many single breed shows have had a similarly impressive uptake, such as the East Anglian Whippet Club Championship Show in July 2009 which saw 8 breeder teams competing.

After months of hard work by breeders to bring their teams together and fine tune their handling, making it to the final has its rewards. The Best Breeder will receive a commemorative crystal Breeder Plan trophy and, in addition to this, all breeder finalists will be presented with a commemorative certificate and Breeders’ Competition goody bag to mark this special occasion.

Caroline Kisko, Kennel Club Communications Director said “We have received plenty of positive feedback on the Breeders’ Competition, with breeders delighted to be offered the opportunity to compete for an award that recognises their skill in breeding dogs of the highest quality. The fact that 56 breeders have made it through to the final in the first year of competition is testament to the competition’s popularity.

“We are delighted that the Kennel Club Breeder Plan is supporting this great competition in 2010.  It has clearly caught the imagination of many breeders around the country and it provides a genuine chance to showcase the very best of British breeders and their dogs. We congratulate all those who have qualified to take part in the final.”

All of the qualified finalists will be pre-judged in Rings 35 and 36 IN Hall 5 at the show at 1430, with the Grand Final then taking place in the Best in Show Arena at approximately 1735 that evening.

List of Finalists

Name of Breeder
Rhodesian Ridgeback
Mr M J & Mrs L A Parke
Norwegian Elkhound
Mrs T Maun
Border Collie
Mrs P A Wilkinson
Bichon Frise
Mrs T A Sims
Ms C Crème
Mrs Y C Miller
German Wirehaired Pointer
Mrs B & Miss S Pinkerton
Border Terrier
Mr C P & Mrs S J Girling
Mr P Singleton
Finnish Lapphund
Mrs T Jackson
Gordon Setter
Mr P & Mrs C A Sandiford
Poodle (Miniature)
Mr M & Mrs V Beck
Border Collie
Mrs J Gregory
Miniature Pinscher
Mr C & Mrs R Wilkinson
English Toy Terrier
Mr N Gourley and Mr A Leonard
Chinese Crested
Mrs L Rupniak
Mrs E Arnold
Mr J & Mrs S Briant & Mr P Routledge
Retriever (Curly Coated)
Mr H R & Mrs G Phillips & Ms C Mann
Bedlington Terrier
Mrs Y Bannister
Hungarian Wirehaired Vizsla
Mr P & Mrs L Upton
Collie (Smooth)
Miss D Moores
Estrela Mountain Dog
Mrs P Dean
Mrs C Robertshaw
Spaniel (Cocker)
Mr & Mrs Webster
Mrs L Morris
Parson Russell Terrier
Mr M & Mrs Baker
Spanish Water Dog
Mr R Abbott
Australian Shepherd
Mr C & Mrs G Dowson
Alaskan Malamute
Ms S Ellis
Afghan Hound
Mr M & Mrs T Ryall
Irish Terrier
Miss A Bradley
Mrs A M Cawthera -Purdy
Mrs A Kirkwood
Polish Lowland Sheepdog
Mrs D Mottram
Mrs A G Siddle
Mrs M Ward-Davies, Miss J Brown & Mr T Hutchings
Norwich Terrier
Mrs R Corkhill
Alaskan Malamute
Mr K & Mrs S A Smith
Dachshund (Miniature Smooth-haired)
Mrs S Ergis
Belgian Shepherd Dog
Ms Jan Ralph
Norwegian Buhund
Mrs D M Stirling
Mrs S Whybrow
Poodle (Miniature)
Miss M Harwood
Mrs E M Kennedy
Tibetan Terrier
Mr D E & Mrs C Johnson
Japanese Shiba Inu
Miss M L Bryans
Bouvier Des Flandres
Mrs J Hughes
Cavalier King Charles Spaniel
Mrs L Hughes
Retriever (Labrador)
Mrs P Carpanini
Dachshund (Miniature Smooth-haired)
Mrs R Williams
Japanese Shiba Inu
Mrs L Dunhill
Portugese Podengo
Mrs B Judge
Griffon Bruxellois
Mr H Ogden
Dachshund (Miniature Wire-haired)
Mr B Kugow & Mrs S Holt
Shih Tzu
Mrs M Diffey

To learn more about the competition and how you can qualify for next year's final, please contact Kathryn Marsh on 0844 463 3980 ext 303 or email kathryn.marsh@thekennelclub.org.uk.

29th January 2010
[032.10] – REISSUE

For further press information or interview requests please contact:
The Kennel Club Press Office
020 7518 1008